Bussey To Play At Mount Vernon Nazarene

CJ Bussey vs Cincinnati State. Photo by Tobias Flemming/Owens Sports Information
CJ Bussey vs Cincinnati State. Photo by Tobias Flemming/Owens Sports Information

By Nicholas Huenefeld/Owens Sports Information

Toledo, Ohio---CJ Bussey (Central Catholic/Toledo, Ohio), a sophomore guard for the Owens Community College men's basketball team, will continue his education and athletic career at Mount Vernon Nazarene University next year.

Bussey, who transferred to Owens after playing his first year at Carson-Newman University, averaged five points, 2.6 rebounds and 1.2 assists per game for Owens last year. He also made 26-for-30 (86.7 percent) from the foul line, and he had six games of double figure scoring - including a season-high 21 points against Lorain County on Feb. 18.

Bussey helped lead Owens to a 25-7 overall record, including a 12-2 record in Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) play. The team won a share of its second straight OCCAC championship and advanced to the Region XII District 11 championship game before falling to Lakeland Community College.

Bussey is the fifth member of the 2014-15 Owens men's basketball team to sign with a four-year school. He joins John Murry (North Central/Indianapolis, Ind.) and Kenny Jones (Clay/South Bend, Ind.), who signed with NCAA Division I Austin Peay State University, Pete Firlik (Catholic Central/Grand Rapids, Mich.), who signed with NCAA Division II Ferris State University, and Edmond Early Jr. (Thurgood Marshall/Dayton, Ohio), who signed with NAIA Indiana Tech University.

Mount Vernon Nazarene, a member of the NAIA, finished 19-13 overall last year and 9-9 in the Crossroads League. They advanced to the Crossroads League semifinals before falling to No. 1 Indiana Wesleyan University. They are led by head coach Jared Ronai.


The Owens men's basketball program has now sent 17 players to four-year schools over the past four years including: Kenny Jones (2013-15, NCAA D-I Austin Peay State University), John Murry (2013-15, NCAA D-I Austin Peay State University), Pete Firlik (2014-15, NCAA D-II Ferris State University), Justin Edmonds (2011-13, Marshall University), James Kelly (2011-13, University of Miami, Fla./Marshall University), Bikramjit Gill (2013-14, Ball State University), Joe Retic II (2012-13, Liberty University), Tony Boykins (2012-14, NCAA D-II Gannon University), Andy Bachman (2012-14, NCAA D-II Tiffin University), Markese Allen (2012-14, NCAA D-II Ohio Valley University), Jay Marquette (2011-13, NCAA D-II Lee University), Jerron Jamerson (2011-12, NAIA Goshen College), DeVondre Peoples (2013-14, NAIA Berea College), Jordan Basinger (2011-12, NAIA Siena Heights University), Edmond Early Jr. (2013-15, NAIA Indiana Tech University), Franklin Lindsey (2011-13, NAIA Indiana Tech University).